To Travel is To Transform

Standard

For some people at some point traveling is a luxury.

It used to be my condition but now to travel seems to be easier than before. To travel alone sounds really not interesting but not for me, although sometime I feel like having a traveling buddy. The only thing I don’t like when traveling on my own is that I will always have difficulty to take pictures of myself in front of a landmark of the places I visit, but it’s not a big deal. It is just one thing to memorize, but the rest depend on how we could pass on the stories to others. And not only that, when we learn, understand, accept and transform ourselves to be a better person after traveling, that’s one big thing. Traveling should make ourselves more culturally sensitive and versatile, and that we adapt to new cultures, peoples and places quicker and easier.

When I travel alone, I got to know new people, I learn about new cultures, languages and social norms as well as generation-to-generation traditions apart from observing the places I’ve visited–how we ‘read’ the surroundings of the places and how they all gravitate towards one largest thing on site and how they could vibrate together to create a bigger life.

I cried, I laughed, I sobbed, I got stunned, amazed, moved and all of those elements that shook my being and shaped a whole new notional standpoint in myself–all of these things that I loved feeling and letting them battling inside my head and my heart. They nourish my soul, my thoughts and emotional connection to the universe. It’s not how long we spend in a particular place but it’s about how quick we absorb and let all the things come inside our ‘home’ through the door of acceptance.

I found myself fought with the locals, I ended up getting lost in the labyrinth of new places and I let myself battle to adjust with the new cultures I encounter and lost in translation of the foreign language I never heard in my life. These things bombarded me everyday with their dynamic movement that definitely help me grow..

About Mohammad Reiza

I first started blogging on wordpress in November 2006 that you can find at mohammadreiza.com and later in January 2007 I added another blog at reizamohammad.wordpress.com and I just recently added another blog in May 2013 at reizamonologues.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. The only thing I don’t like when traveling on my own is that I will always have difficulty to take pictures of myself in front of a landmark of the places I visit..

    baca bagian yang ini,,buat aku senyum2..hehehhehe..betul bgt soalnya…

    belum kelar baca,,da waktunya pulang..da jam 17:00

    senang membaca tulisan2mu 🙂

    keep writing (jiah sok english)

    Like

Leave a comment